English 中文
Home > The Orchestra > About The CBSO

Our Story

The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, also known as the CBSO, is a British orchestra based in Birmingham, England’s second largest city.

The Orchestra’s principal concert venue is Symphony Hall, a 2,262-seat concert venue located in the centre of Birmingham and widely considered to be one of the finest concert venues in the world. The CBSO is the only professional symphony orchestra based between the town of Bournemouth on the south coast of England and Manchester in the north west of England. The CBSO’s current Music Director is Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla who was appointed in 2016. The CBSO’s current Chief Executive, appointed in 1999, is Stephen Maddock.


History

1920 – 1978



Founded by Neville Chamberlain in 1920 as the City of Birmingham Orchestra, the first public performance took place in September conducted by Appleby Matthews, the orchestra's first Music Director. A symphonic concert followed in November when renowned English composer Sir Edward Elgar conducted a programme of his own music in Birmingham Town Hall. In 1924 Sir Adrian Boult became Principal Conductor for six years until 1930 with English composer and conductor Leslie Heward replacing him until 1943. The CBSO became a full-time organisation in 1944, changing its name to the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra in 1948. Principal conductors since then included George Weldon (1944-1951), Austrian-born Rudolf Schwarz (1951-1957), Polish composer and conductor Andrzej Panufnik (1957-1959), a returning Adrian Boult, who re-joined the orchestra for one season between 1959-1960 following Panufnik’s sudden resignation who was succeeded by English conductor and violinist Hugo Rignold (1960-1969) and French-born Louis Frémaux (1969-1978). During this time the orchestra made recordings and gave regular concerts.

1980 – 1998



The CBSO began to gain greater international renown after the discovery of young British composer Simon Rattle in 1980 who became the Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor of the CBSO until 1988. At the time of his appointment Rattle was the UK’s youngest Principal Conductor. Under Rattle’s leadership, the Orchestra increased its profile and reputation with highly acclaimed concerts, extensive international touring schedules, a number of award-winning recordings and appearances in television documentaries. The Orchestra became one of the leading ensembles in Europe, and gained a name for its interpretations of late romantic and 20th century works, especially those of Sibelius and Gustav Mahler. Rattle was named Music Director of the CBSO in 1990. Also in 1990, the post of Radcliffe Composer in Association was created with Mark-Anthony Turnage filling the role. In 1995 Judith Weir became Fairbairn Composer in Association, followed in 2001 by Julian Anderson. Throughout Rattle’s 18 years with the CBSO he won nine Gramophone Awards, honours bestowed on recordings in the classic record industry, including three in 1995 as well as Artist of the Year in 1993. Rattle was appointed CBE in 1987 and knighted by the Queen of England in 1994. Rattle’s tenure saw the orchestra move homes in 1991 from Birmingham Town Hall to a new venue, Symphony Hall, inside the International Convention Centre (ICC). It also saw the foundation of the CBSO Youth Chorus, a youth choir which performs alone, or in association with the CBSO with the aim of providing the CBSO with a chorus for pieces of symphonic music that require young people’s voices. Open to girls in school years 9-13, it is now established as one of the country’s leading youth choruses.

1998 – 2008



In 1998 Sakari Oramo was appointed Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor of the CBSO, and succeeded Rattle as Music Director in September 1999, a position he held until 2008. In the same year as Oraro’s appointment, the CBSO Centre was established to complement the performance facilities at Symphony Hall. It became the home of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and its partner organisation Birmingham Contemporary Music Group. A converted factory, the CBSO Centre houses management offices, rehearsal facilities and is a concert venue in its own right for more intimate performances. Six years later, in 2004, the CBSO Youth Orchestra was founded. The amateur symphony orchestra for young people, managed by the CBSO, is based at the CBSO Centre but performs at Symphony Hall. The orchestra recruits young orchestral musicians in the 14-21 age range and performs two concerts annually under the direction of the CBSO’s Music Director or one of the CBSO’s regular guest conductors. In line with the CBSO programming policy, the Youth Orchestra has a policy of performing music that is outside of the standard repertoire and often more ambitious than that usually associated with youth orchestras. In 2008, the CBSO’s recording of the complete Saint-Saëns Piano Concertos with pianist Stephen Hough, released on the Hyperion Label in 2001, was named the best classic recording of the last 30 years. The recording won the ‘Gold Disc’ at the Gramophone Awards, the best of the 30 Records of the Year selected since the awards were launched by Gramophone magazine in 1978. Oramo stepped down as Music Director in 2008 and took the title of Principal Guest Conductor for the 2008-2009 season.

2008 – 2015



Latvian conductor Andris Nelsons took over as the CBSO’s 11th Principal Conductor and Music Director effective with the 2008-2009 season. Nelson had an initial contract of three years which was further extended until the CBSO announced the conclusion of his tenure at the end of the 2014-2015 season. Nelsons’ time at the helm saw the CBSO’s busiest touring season on record for the 2012-2013 season with more than a quarter of its 140 concerts performed overseas. One concert, performed in Tokyo, was voted as the country’s best orchestral performance of 2013 in a poll of music critics by Japanese classical music magazine Ongaku no Tomo.

2015 – present



In July 2015, Lithuania-born Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla first guest conducted the CBSO and returned for an additional concert in January 2016. In February 2016, the CBSO named her as its next Music Director of the CBSO. Gražinytė-Tyla conducted her first concert as CBSO Music Director on 26 August 2016. She is the first female conductor to be named Music Director of the CBSO. At the CBSO, Gražinytė-Tyla’s artistic plans will range from Mozart and Haydn to 20th Century classics and works by living composers. She will also lead opera projects in Birmingham and will work closely with Simon Halsey CBE on projects with the CBSO’s internationally renowned choruses. The CBSO’s most recent Principal Guest Conductor was Edward Gardner. He began the post in September 2011 with an initial contract of 3 years, for 3-4 weeks of concerts per season. He concluded his tenure as CBSO Principal Guest Conductor in July 2016. The CBSO’s current Associate Conductor is Michael Seal and the current Assistant Conductor is Jonathan Bloxham, who was appointed in June 2016, replacing Alpesh Chauhan. The CBSO has recorded extensively for labels such as EMI Classics, Warner Classics and Orfeo. The orchestra has also released recordings under its own self-produced label. In December 2016, the CBSO will make their debut tour to China. The China Tour will feature five concerts over the New Year period, starting at Guangzhou Opera House, Changsha Concert Hall, Shanghai Grand Theatre and finishing at the NCPA, Beijing. Vassily Sinaisky will be the Conductor for the tour with James Ehnes as the Soloist. This will be the CBSO’s first tour to mainland China in its 96-year history. 


Key facts

Founded: 1920 (96 years old)

Principal concert venue: Symphony Hall, Birmingham
Number of professional musicians in the orchestra: 95
Average number of concerts a season: 130

Current Music Director: Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla (appointed in 2016)
Current Associate Conductor: Michael Seal
Current Assistant Conductor: Jonathan Bloxham
Current Chief Executive: Stephen Maddock (appointed in 1999)

Orchestra style and repertoire: Each season ranges from symphonic classics and virtuosic concertos to grand opera and cutting-edge contemporary music, while popular Friday night shows and lively family concertos performed at Symphony Hall in Birmingham offer world-class music making for all tastes and ages.

Next international tour: Mainland China, Friday 30th December 2016 – Thursday 5th January 2017

Chief Conductors and Music Directors

- Appleby Matthews (1920 - 1924)
- Sir Adrian Boult (1924–1930)
- Leslie Heward (1930–1943)
- George Weldon (1944–1951)
- Rudolf Schwarz (1951–1957)
- Andrzej Panufnik (1957–1959)
- Adrian Boult (1959–1960)
- Hugo Rignold (1960–1969)
- Louis Frémaux (1969–1978)
- Simon Rattle (1980–1998)
- Sakari Oramo (1998–2008)
- Andris Nelsons (2008–2015)
- Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla (2016-present)


CBSO Centre

Situated on Berkley Street, the CBSO Centre doubles as the administrative and rehearsal base for the Orchestra and Choruses and is also a friendly and adaptable performance space. The Centre is home to Centre Stage – a series of relaxed chamber concerts by CBSO musicians and invited guest artists - and the CBSO’s innovative ‘toddler friendly’ Notelets series – concerts devised specially for the under-5s. The Centre also serves as the offices and performance base of for the internationally-renowned Birmingham Contemporary Music Group (BCMG). It’s the administrative home of Ex Cathedra and also hosts regular concerts by Jazzlines, Birmingham’s leading contemporary jazz promoter.

The CBSO tour to China

Guangzhou

Friday 30 December 2016, 8.00pm

Guangzhou Opera House


READ MORE BOOK NOW


Changsha

Sunday 1 January 2017, 8.00pm

Changsha Concert Hall


READ MORE


Shanghai

Tuesday 3 January 2017, 7.30pm

Shanghai Grand Theatre


READ MORE BOOK NOW


Beijing

Thursday 5 January 2017, 7.30pm

NCPA, Beijing


READ MORE

English 中文
首页 > 关于乐团 > 我们的故事

我们的故事

伯明翰市立交响乐团(缩写CBSO)是一个常驻在英国第二大城市伯明翰的英国乐团。

乐团的主要演出场馆是交响乐大厅。这座可容纳2,262人的音乐厅位于伯明翰中心,被认为是全世界最好的音乐厅之一。伯明翰市立交响乐团是从英格兰南部海滨城市伯恩茅斯到英格兰西北部曼彻斯特之间唯一一个专业的交响乐团。乐团现任音乐总监是2016年上任的Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla ,现任总经理是1999年上任的Stephen Maddock 。  


历史

1920 – 1978



1920年张伯伦成立了伯明翰市立交响乐团的前身伯明翰市管弦乐团 ,同年9月在乐团第一任音乐总监Appleby Matthews的指挥下进行了首次公开演出。之后的11月,著名英国作曲家爱德华·埃尔加爵士在伯明翰市政厅指挥乐团进行了一场演奏他本人作品的交响乐音乐会。1924年,Adrian Boult爵士出任乐团首席指挥,6年后的1930年,英国作曲家和指挥Leslie Heward接替他直到1943年。1944年,伯明翰市立交响乐团成为全职机构,1948年更名为伯明翰市立交响乐团。从那时起的首席指挥包括George Weldon(1944-1951)、奥地利指挥Rudolf Schwarz(1951-1957)、波兰作曲家和指挥Andrzej Panufnik(1957-1959)。Panufnik突然辞职后,Adrian Boult重回乐团指挥了1959-1960年一个表演季,并由英国指挥和小提琴演奏家Hugo Rignold(1960-1969)和法国人Louis Frémaux(1969-1978)继任。在这期间,乐团录制了多张唱片并进行常规演出。

1980 – 1998



1980年年轻的英国作曲家Simon Rattle的到来使伯明翰市交响乐团开始获得更多国际声誉。Simon Rattle于1988年成为乐团首席指挥和艺术顾问。当时他是英国最年轻的首席指挥。在Rattle的领导下,乐团通过好评如潮的音乐会、大量国际巡演、多张获奖唱片和在电视纪录片中亮相不断获得更高的声誉。乐团成为欧洲领先的音乐团体,并以演奏晚期浪漫主义以及20世纪的音乐作品,特别是西贝柳斯和古斯塔夫·马勒的作品而闻名。1990年,Rattle被任命为伯明翰市交响乐团的音乐总监。同年,Mark-Anthony Turnage出任乐团合作作曲家这个新设立的职位。1995年,Judith Weir成为乐团合作作曲家,2001年由Julian Anderson接任。Rattle在伯明翰市交响乐团任职的18年间获得了9次留声机大奖,录制的唱片多次被古典音乐唱片业授予荣誉,1995年就获得3次,他还被评选为1993年“年度艺术家”。Rattle于1987年被授予二等勋位爵士,并于1994年被英女王授予爵士称号。在Rattle任期内,伯明翰市交响乐团在1991年从伯明翰市政厅搬入位于国际会议中心(ICC)内的新场馆交响乐大厅。伯明翰市交响乐团青少年合唱团也在Rattle任期内成立。这个青少年合唱团有时单独演出,在伯明翰市交响乐团演出的交响乐曲目需要青年人声音时与乐团合作。合唱团向9-13岁的女童开放,现已成为英国领先的青少年合唱团。

1998 – 2008



1998年,Sakari Oramo被任命为伯明翰市交响乐团的首席指挥和艺术顾问,并于1999年9月接替Rattle成为乐团音乐总监,直到2008年卸任。Oramo上任同年,为补充交响乐大厅的演出设施,伯明翰市交响乐团中心落成。中心成为伯明翰市交响乐团及其合作组织伯明翰现代音乐组织的驻地。中心由一个工厂改造而成,内有管理和行政办公室、排练设施,以及一个进行小型演出的音乐厅。6年后的2004年,伯明翰市交响乐团青少年管弦乐团成立。这个由伯明翰市交响乐团管理的面向青少年的业余交响乐团常驻伯明翰市交响乐团中心,但在交响乐大厅进行演出.乐团招募14-21岁的青年管弦乐演奏家,每年在伯明翰市交响乐团音乐总监或一位常任客座指挥的带领下举行两场音乐会。青少年交响乐团与伯明翰市交响乐团的政策一致,因此会演奏标准曲目之外的曲目,并且常常比一般青少年交响乐团所演奏的曲目更具有难度。2001年,伯明翰市交响乐团与钢琴家Stephen Hough在Hyperion厂牌下合作录制了完整版圣桑钢琴协奏曲。2008年,这张唱片被评选为过去30年中最好的古典音乐唱片。这张唱片在留声机大奖中获得“金唱片”。这是《留声机》杂志社自1978年推出这个奖项以来30张“年度唱片”中成绩最好的一张。Oramo于2008年卸任音乐总监一职,在2008-2009年度演出季中担任了首席客座指挥。

2008 – 2015



拉脱维亚指挥Andris Nelsons在2008-2009年度演出季中担任了伯明翰市立交响乐团第11任首席指挥和音乐总监。Nelson最初的合同只有三年,但之后一直延长到伯明翰市立交响乐团宣布他的任期在2014-2015年度演出季后结束。Nelson在任期间,伯明翰市立交响乐团迎来了有史以来最繁忙的巡演演出季。在2012-2013年度演出季中,乐团的140音乐会中有四分之一都在海外。一场在日本东京的音乐会被日本古典音乐杂志《音乐之友》的评论家投票评选为2012年日本最佳交响音乐会。

2015 – 现在



2015年7月,立陶宛指挥Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla首先作为客座指挥与伯明翰市交响乐团进行了一次合作,之后又于2016年1月加演了一场音乐会。2016年2月,伯明翰市交响乐团任命她为乐团下一任音乐总监。2016年8月26日,她第一次以乐团音乐总监的身份指挥了一场音乐会。她是首位担任乐团音乐总监的女性指挥。在伯明翰市交响乐团,Gražinytė-Tyla的演出计划包括莫扎特、海顿、20世纪古典音乐作品和尚在世的作曲家的作品等等。她还将在伯明翰领导一个歌剧项目,并将和Simon Halsey CBE紧密合作与世界著名的伯明翰市交响乐团合唱团相关的项目。伯明翰市交响乐团最近一任首席客座指挥是Edward Gardner。他于2011年9月上任,最初合同为3年,每年演出季参与3-4周的音乐会。他的任期到2016年7月结束。伯明翰市交响乐团的现任副指挥是Michael Seal,现任指挥助理是2016年6月接替Alpesh Chauhan的Jonathan Bloxham。伯明翰市交响乐团与百代古典音乐、华纳古典音乐及Orfeo等厂牌都有大量合作。乐团也通过自己的独立厂牌发布唱片。2016年12月,伯明翰市交响乐团将展开首次中国巡演。中国巡演在新年演出季举行,包括5场音乐会,从广州大剧院开始,随后到访长沙音乐厅和上海大剧院,并将在北京国家大剧院落下帷幕。瓦希里·辛奈斯基将出任巡演指挥,詹姆斯·海涅斯将担任小提琴独奏。这将是伯明翰市交响乐团成立96周年来首次在中国大陆举办巡演。


重要信息

成立:1920年(96岁)

主要演出场馆:伯明翰交响乐大厅

在团专业音乐家:95人

演出季平均音乐会数量:130场

现任音乐总监:Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla(2016年任命)

现任副指挥:Michael Seal

现任助理指挥:Jonathan Bloxham

现任总经理:Stephen Maddock(1999年任命)

乐团风格和曲目:每个演出季的内容涵盖从经典交响乐和名家协奏曲到大型歌剧和前卫现代音乐的多种类型。同时,在伯明翰交响乐大厅举办的广受欢迎的周五晚间表演和生动活泼的家庭协奏曲表演为不同口味和年龄的观众带来了世界级的音乐享受。

下次国际巡演:中国大陆,2016年12月30日(周五) – 2017年1月5日(周四)

历任首席指挥和音乐总监

- Appleby Matthews (1920 - 1924)
- Sir Adrian Boult (1924–1930)
- Leslie Heward (1930–1943)
- George Weldon (1944–1951)
- Rudolf Schwarz (1951–1957)
- Andrzej Panufnik (1957–1959)
- Adrian Boult (1959–1960)
- Hugo Rignold (1960–1969)
- Louis Frémaux (1969–1978)
- Simon Rattle (1980–1998)
- Sakari Oramo (1998–2008)
- Andris Nelsons (2008–2015)
- Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla (2016-现在)

 


伯明翰市立交响乐团中心

位于Berkley大街的伯明翰市立交响乐团中心既是乐团和合唱团的行政和排练场所,也是一个友好且适应性强的演出场所。中心是Centre Stage系列演出的场地。这是一系列由伯明翰市立交响乐团音乐家和特邀艺术家共同表演的轻松的室内音乐会。中心还举办伯明翰市立交响乐团创新的专为5岁以下儿童设计的“适宜婴儿的”Notelets音乐会系列。伯明翰现代音乐组织(BCMG)的办公室和演出场地也设在中心内。这里还是Ex Cathedra的行政办公场所,并定期举办伯明翰领军的现代爵士乐团体Jazzlines的音乐会。

伯明翰市立交响乐团中国巡演

广州

2016年12月30日(周五)晚8:00

广州大剧院


阅读更多 订票


长沙

2017年1月1日(周日)晚8:00

长沙音乐厅


阅读更多


上海

2017年1月3日(周二)晚7:30

上海大剧院


阅读更多 订票


北京

2017年1月5日(周四)晚7:30

国家大剧院


阅读更多