English 中文
Home > Visit Birmingham

Visit Birmingham

Today Birmingham attracts over 33.5 million visitors every year and has seen a 10% increase in those numbers over the last six years.

Why? Because Birmingham and the region is diverse, exciting, acclaimed for its cultural strengths and heralded as a foodie haven. Located right in the heart of England, Birmingham is incredibly easy to reach by air, rail or road.

Endless experiences start in Birmingham

Here's a quick guide to the history, heritage and culture of Birmingham as well as some of the events and attractions you can enjoy in the city centre and across the region.

History

The Birmingham area has a special place in history. It was the birthplace of the industrial revolution. Inventions that emerged from this area – the steam engine, the light bulb – have fundamentally changed the way the world works. Once famous as a 'City of a Thousand Trades' and the 'Toyshop of Europe', Birmingham was a world leader in the production of pens, buckles, medals, coins, buttons, jewellery and guns, enjoying a worldwide reputation as a powerhouse of manufacturing and invention. Nowadays Birmingham thrives on being the regional capital and centre for employment and commerce. Innovative new industries are rapidly making Birmingham their home, from graphic designers to computer game programmers, and are supported by Birmingham’s world-renowned universities and colleges.

Heritage

From jewellers, churches and the origins of Cadbury’s chocolate, to the inspiration for J.R.R. Tolkien’s Middle Earth, Birmingham's history has created some outstanding heritage attractions to discover, explore and enjoy. Visit Birmingham’s last surviving Back to Back housing - a beautifully restored 19th-century courtyard of working people’s houses. Stop by the Black Country Living Museum to experience what day-to-day life was like 100 years ago or visit Birmingham’s unique 200-year-old Jewellery Quarter, which is still producing over 40% of the UK’s jewellery and home to the award-winning Museum of the Jewellery Quarter.

Culture

A vibrant mix of nationalities, religions, arts, interests and ideas exist side by side in England’s second city. It’s what makes this city’s cultural offer so rich with festivals and art events occurring throughout the year.

Any cultural visit to this city would not be complete without a visit to the Ikon gallery – a converted neo-gothic building and home to Birmingham’s contemporary art collection. Not far from this you’ll find Birmingham’s Museum and Art Gallery. As well as housing the world’s largest Pre-Raphaelite collection, this spectacular Victorian building holds the magnificent £3.285 million Staffordshire Hoard. This is the largest hoard of Anglo Saxon Gold ever found in Britain.

While you’re here take the opportunity to be enchanted by Birmingham Royal Ballet, or the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, one of the world’s leading symphonic ensembles. The award-winning CBSO is the resident orchestra of Symphony Hall – an equally prestigious and simply stunning, contemporary music venue famed for its perfect acoustics.

Accommodation

Whether it’s sleek and contemporary or traditional and homely, Birmingham and the region has the accommodation to suit your needs.

With over 6,000 hotel rooms in the city and 28,600 bed spaces in and around Birmingham, from elegant 4-star rooms through to comfortable budget options and well equipped serviced apartments, Birmingham and the region has something to suit every budget.

Food

Birmingham has a history of producing comfort food. Chocolate, cocoa, custard and tea are all famously connected with the city. But there’s another side to this city’s food offering. Birmingham boasts more Michelin-starred restaurants than any other city outside of London. There’s a thriving street food scene too. Overall the culinary cultures of 27 different nationalities are represented in Birmingham.

Eating out in Birmingham, the Black Country and Solihull is like going on a gastronomic tour of the world. With the influence of Birmingham’s multicultural population, a must-try is the Birmingham Balti. Just a short hop from the city’s centre is the famous Balti Triangle, which now attracts over 20,000 visitors each week.

Attractions

With world-class theatres, thought-provoking museums and a chocolate factory, there’s an abundance of attractions to tempt you.

Dudley Zoological Gardens has welcomed visitors since 1937 and boasts some of the world’s rarest animals. Half a million chocoholics visit Cadbury World each year to discover the history and magic of chocolate. The National SEA LIFE Centre’s glass tunnel takes you on a spectacular undersea voyage through an enormous one million-litre ocean tank, where giant green sea turtles, black tip reef sharks and tropical reef fish swim inches from your head.

Thinktank Birmingham Science Museum is the most modern of science museums. Hands-on displays explore everything from full size locomotives, aircraft even intestines and taste buds. There’s also an incredible planetarium which uses state-of-the-art digital technology to present breath taking images on a 360° domed ceiling. Plus you can view hundreds of gleaming machines at the National Motorcycle Museum in Solihull. And when it comes to shopping Birmingham has over 1,000 shops within a 20-minute walk.

Explore the surroundings

Birmingham’s central location puts it at the heart of a world of experiences. As the capital of this region, it’s the ideal starting point for so many adventures. Take the time to discover some of the most interesting and picturesque areas that England has to offer. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Company in Shakespeare’s hometown in Warwickshire and do battle with knights at the extraordinary Warwick Castle.

The Severn Valley Railway links Worcestershire and Shropshire. Board an historic steam engine and explore the towns, villages and countryside of these two beautiful counties. Discover neighbouring Herefordshire, famous for its farm-fresh food and locally made cider. Or explore the home of world-renowned potteries and origins of the latest Anglo Saxon gold hoard in Staffordshire.

 



Content / Images courtesy of Visit Birmingham

English 中文
首页 > 访问伯明翰

访问伯明翰

现在的伯明翰每年吸引着3,350万旅客,在过去六年中,每年的访客人数都有10%的增长。

这是为什么?因为伯明翰和周边地区既多元化,又令人兴奋,因其文化优势以及美食天堂的名声而备受推崇。伯明翰位于英格兰的心脏地区,航空、铁路和公路交通均十分方便。

无尽体验始于伯明翰

下面是对伯明翰历史、遗迹和文化的简要介绍,以及一些您可以在市内和周边地区享受的活动和景点。

历史

伯明翰在历史上有特殊的位置。它是工业革命的发源地。在这个地区出现的发明创造——蒸汽机、电灯泡——彻底改变了世界。伯明翰曾经被称作“千种行业之城”和“欧洲的玩具店”,在笔、搭扣、金属、硬币、钮扣、珠宝和枪支制造方面处于世界领先地位,制造业和创新发明享誉世界。如今,伯明翰作为地区首府和就业及商业中心而繁荣兴旺。创新产业在伯明翰快速发展,从平面设计师到电脑游戏程序员都以这里为家,并得到伯明翰的世界一流大学和学院的支持。

遗迹

从珠宝、教堂和吉百利巧克力的发源地,到托尔金中土大陆的灵感来源,伯明翰的历史创造了一些伟大的遗迹供人发现、探索并享受。访问伯明翰最后残留的背靠背式建筑——一种19世纪工人阶级所住的庭院的复原建筑。在黑乡生活博物馆停留一会儿,体验100年前的日常生活,或者访问伯明翰拥有200年历史的珠宝区。这里仍在生产英国40%以上的珠宝,并且是珠宝区博物馆所在地。

文化

充满活力的多民族、多宗教、艺术、爱好和思想在英格兰第二大城市和谐并存,使这里的文化氛围如此丰富,节日和艺术活动贯穿一年四季。

如果不去Ikon美术馆,在伯明翰的文化之旅就不算完整。这是一座改建的新哥特式建筑,汇集了伯明翰的当代艺术藏品。不远之处便是伯明翰博物馆和美术馆。除了收藏有世界最大的前拉斐尔画派作品之外,这座宏伟壮观的维多利亚式建筑还藏有价值328.5万英镑的斯塔福德郡宝藏。这是英国至今发现的最大规模的盎格鲁-撒克逊金工饰品。

在您逗留之际,应该抓住机会陶醉于伯明翰皇家芭蕾舞团或世界领先的交响乐团之一——伯明翰市立交响乐团的演出。多次获奖的伯明翰市立交响合乐团是伯明翰交响乐大厅的常驻乐团。交响乐大厅同样声名卓著,是一座以完美音响效果著称的当代音乐表演场所。

住宿

不论是整洁现代式的还是传统家庭式的,伯明翰和周边地区总有适合您的住宿。

伯明翰市中心有6,000多家宾馆,室内和周边地区有28,600个床位,从4星级宾馆到舒适的廉价旅店和设施齐全的酒店式公寓,伯明翰及周边地区有适合各种预算的住宿选择。

饮食

伯明翰有着生产安慰食品的历史。巧克力、可可、蛋奶冻和茶饮都与这座城市有着不解之缘。但伯明翰市的食品还有另外一面。伯明翰拥有的米其林星级餐厅数量超过伦敦以外的任何一座英国城市;这里还有发展迅速的街头美食。在伯明翰,您可以体验到 27个不同国家的烹饪文化。

在伯明翰、黑乡和索利哈尔,外出用餐就像是进行了一次环球美食之旅。由于伯明翰人口的多元化,伯明翰巴尔蒂成为了一个不可错过的地方。巴尔蒂三角离市中心只有一步之遥,每周 吸引着20,000多名访客。

景点

世界一流的剧院、发人深思的博物馆,加上巧克力工厂,伯明翰引人入胜的景点十分丰富。Dudley动物园从1937年起对公众开放,饲养着一些世界上最稀有的动物。每年有50万巧克力迷参观吉百利巧克力世界,了解巧克力的历史和魔力。国家海洋生命中心的玻璃隧道贯穿一个巨大的一百万升的海水水箱,带您进行一次壮观的海底旅程:硕大的绿色海龟、黑鳍鲨和热带珊瑚鱼在您的头顶附近游动。 

Thinktank伯明翰科学博物馆是最现代化的科学博物馆。鼓励动手操作的展品探索了一切事物,包括实际尺寸的火车头、飞机,甚至肠道和味蕾。这里还有一个令人惊叹的天文馆,使用最先进的数码技术在360穹顶上展示令人屏息的图像。此外,您还可以在索利哈尔的国家摩托车博物馆参观数百辆闪亮的摩托车。如果您想购物,伯明翰在20分钟步行距离内有1,000多家商店。

探索周边地区

伯明翰优越的地理位置使其成为体验世界的心脏地带。作为本地区的首府,这里是许多探险旅程的理想出发点。您可以慢慢地发现英格兰一些最有趣、最风景如画的地区。您可以在华威郡的莎士比亚故乡参观皇家莎士比亚剧团,并在奇特出众的华威城堡与骑士一比高下。

塞文河谷铁路连接伍斯特郡和什罗普郡。坐上古老的蒸汽机车,游历这两个郡的城镇、村落和乡间。探索附近以农场现做食品和本 地酿制的苹果酒而闻名的赫里福德郡。或者参观世界闻名的陶瓷之乡和 斯塔福德郡最新发现的盎格鲁-撒克逊金工饰品的发掘地。



内容/图片来源: Visit Birmingham