English 中文
Home > Visit Birmingham > Birmingham: A city of culture

Birmingham: A City of Culture

From fine art to classical music, ballet, world-class book archives and the UK's oldest working cinema, Birmingham is a city steeped in culture.

Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery

Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery is a vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries displaying world-class collections of art, social history, archaeology and ethnography.

The museum holds centuries of European history and culture and is home to art collections of international importance, there is also a celebration of local and industrial history in the ever-changing exhibitions. Packed with interactive activities and designed to appeal to all senses, the museum is a beautiful space for all to connect with our world’s past. You can step inside a 17th century painting, eavesdrop on Albert Einstein or simply stand back and see major works by the Old Masters and Impressionists rub shoulders with Rossetti and Burne-Jones in the world’s largest public collection of Pre-Raphaelite art.

With the most highly valued hoard of Anglo-Saxon gold, the largest known complete Indian bronze sculpture and a whole collection of Egyptian mummies and coffins, Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery is a treasure trove on the map of arts and culture. Entrance to Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery is free. There is usually a charge for entry for exhibitions in the Gas Hall. To check prices for specific exhibitions please see the official website.




Visit website

Theatre

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent, Birmingham and the region's theatres know how to pull a crowd. Half a million people agree; Birmingham’s flagship theatre is the nation’s favourite too. More seats are sold at the Birmingham Hippodrome than by any other British theatre each year including the West End. The 2,000-seat theatre regularly welcomes the cream of British musicals and the UK’s biggest, most spectacular pantos.

Just down the road, The New Alexandra Theatre, is an exquisite Edwardian auditorium staging a rich mix of drama, musicals, concerts and comedy. One of the country’s favourite venues for touring companies. Birmingham Repertory Theatre, or The REP as it is affectionately known, is one of Britain’s leading producing theatres. It creates entirely new plays, working with the writers, directors and actors to bring many world premieres to the stage.


Visit website

The Library of Birmingham

The Library has become a major cultural destination in Birmingham City. Designed by Dutch architects Mecanoo, the Library has transformed the city’s library services and become a major cultural destination, housing Birmingham’s world-class collections of archives, photography and rare books as well as a million printed volumes, the largest number held by any public library in the UK. Of these, over 400,000 books are available on the Library’s public floors.

At 31,000 sq. metres it is the largest public library in Europe.



Visit website

Birmingham Royal Ballet

The Birmingham Royal Ballet is Britain's premier touring ballet company. The Company leads the world in the creation of new and innovative popular ballets and has a busy programme of shows throughout the year.

Based at Birmingham Hippodrome, the company performs a range of traditional, classical and heritage ballets as well as ground-breaking new works with the aim to encourage choreographers and composers of the future.



Visit website

Dance

Birmingham has a wide range of dance companies and venues, from many different cultures. DanceXchange, a dance house based in the Birmingham Hippodrome complex, brings together dance artists, companies, educators and venues in the promotion of dance activity. Sampad is a dynamic development agency for South Asian Arts based in Birmingham. It plays a significant role in the UK promoting the appreciation and practice of the diverse art forms originating from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. RoguePlay, Birmingham's most innovative Circus Theatre Company, combines the spoken word with unsurpassable Physical Theatre and stunning Aerial Circus.



Visit website

Visual Arts

One of Europe's leading contemporary art galleries, Ikon is stylish, progressive and recognised for its individuality. The Ikon exhibits the best international and British art in a changing programme of exhibitions and events. Admission is free.

Birmingham's unique Jewellery Quarter is home to Europe’s largest school of jewellery. There’s a number of galleries showcasing work including the UK’s second oldest independent art gallery; the Royal Birmingham Society of Artists. St. Paul’s Gallery is also a must visit and is notable for being the world’s leading retailer of signed record covers.

The Barber Institute of Fine Arts has an outstanding collection of Old Masters alongside and modern classics. You’ll see works by Rubens, Gainsborough, Rossetti, Monet, Degas and Magritte.

Eastside Projects based in Digbeth is a new model for a gallery, one where space and programme are intertwined. Alongside experimental contemporary art practices and exhibitions, the gallery has featured long-term, permanent works from international artists.



Visit website

Film

Hollywood or Bollywood? Art house or blockbuster? Birmingham cinema gives you film at its finest from spacious and welcoming multiplexes to the UK’s oldest working cinema. For a night out at the movies there are plenty of great cinemas to choose from in Birmingham and the surrounding area.

In the city centre there’s both a Cineworld and two Odeon's, as well as an Everyman Cinema situated in The Mailbox, and you’ll find Vue over at Star City, one of the largest cinema complexes in the world with 30 different screens.

The magical Electric Cinema in central Birmingham is the oldest working cinema in the UK. Opened in 1909, the refurbished Electric is not short on home comforts with its luxury sofa seating, waiter service and full bar.



Visit website

Music

The city and the region offers such an eclectic and full music programme because of its range of venues, local talent and passionate audiences. Whether it’s a huge arena tour or an intimate gig, you’ll find it in Birmingham.

Symphony Hall is widely regarded as the finest concert hall in Europe and the nearby Town Hall provides a majestic location. Over at the Barclaycard Arena and sister venue the Genting Arena, just ten minutes out of the city centre, a constant stream of world famous rock and pop acts take to the stage night after night.

The Bramall Music Building is a purpose build music venue on the University of Birmingham Campus and at the Birmingham Hippodrome, the Welsh National Opera, countless West End Musicals and the world-famous Birmingham Royal Ballet offer real choice. Together with many smaller venues that range from the O2 Academy to the Jam House to theatres staging all sorts of concerts or gigs, all kinds of music have a home in Birmingham.



Visit website


Content / Images courtesy of Visit Birmingham

Visit Birmingham

English 中文
首页 > 访问伯明翰 > 文化之城

伯明翰:文化之城

从美术作品到古典音乐、芭蕾、世界级的藏书和英国最古老的电影院,伯明翰是一座沉浸在浓郁文化氛围中的城市。

伯明翰博物馆和美术馆

伯明翰博物馆和美术馆是位于伯明翰市中心,是一座充满活力的博物馆。馆内有超过40个展厅,展出艺术、社会历史、考古学和人种学方面的世界级藏品。

该博物馆藏有关于欧洲上千年历史和文化的展品及众多世界著名画家的艺术作品。经常更新的展览也涉及当地历史和工业史。博物馆有众多互动活动,调动观众的所有感官,带领大家与过去的世界相连。您可以近距离欣赏一幅17世纪的绘画作品,聆听爱因斯坦,或者欣赏古典大师及印象派作品,在全世界最大的前拉斐尔流派公共收藏中品味罗塞蒂和伯恩·琼斯的画作。

伯明翰博物馆和美术馆拥有价值最高的盎格鲁-撒克逊金工饰品、已知的最为完整的印第安青铜雕塑和一整套埃及木乃伊和棺木收藏,是艺术与文化地图上的宝库。伯明翰博物馆和美术馆免费向公众开放,在Gas展厅的特别展览一般收费。查看特展门票价格,请访问官方网站。




访问网站

戏剧

从伦敦西区巡展的剧目到本地艺术家精彩表演,伯明翰和周边地区的剧院十分了解如何吸引观众。50万公众都同意伯明翰的旗舰剧院也是英国最受欢迎的剧院。包括伦敦西区的剧院在内,全英国没有哪个剧院一年售出的门票数量能超过伯明翰Hippodrome剧院。这个可容纳2000人的剧院定期上演英国音乐剧和英国最大的最壮观的讽刺歌舞剧。

在同一条街上,New Alexandra剧院是一个精致的爱德华风格礼堂。这里上演众多戏剧、音乐剧、音乐会和喜剧表演,是巡演公司最喜欢的英国剧院之一。伯明翰Repertory剧院也被人们亲切地称作The REP。这是一个著名的创作剧院,与作家、导员和演员合作,制作新剧,很多剧目的全球首演都在这里。


访问网站

伯明翰图书馆

伯明翰图书馆已经成为伯明翰市的一大文化旅游胜地。图书馆由荷兰建筑事务所Mecanoo设计,将城市的图书馆改造成为文化景点,储存伯明翰世界级的档案、照片和古籍善本收藏,以及100万册图书。这是英国公共图书馆中数量最大的藏书,其中40万册图书都可以供读者开架借阅。

伯明翰图书馆占地31,000平方米,是欧洲最大的公共图书馆。



访问网站

伯明翰皇家芭蕾舞团

伯明翰皇家芭蕾舞团是英国首屈一指的芭蕾舞巡回演出公司。该公司在创造新的、富有创新性的流行芭蕾方面领导世界潮流,全年都有忙碌的演出计划。

该公司常驻在伯明翰Hippodrome剧院,表演一系列传统、古典和经典的芭蕾舞曲目,同时也表演前卫创新的新作品,以鼓励未来的舞蹈编导和作曲家。



访问网站

舞蹈

伯明翰有来自多种不同文化的众多舞蹈公司和场地。DanceXchange是一家位于伯明翰Hippodrome综合大楼的舞蹈公司,汇集舞蹈艺术家、企业、教育工作者和场馆,旨在推广舞蹈活动。Sampad是一家位于英国伯明翰的充满活力的南亚艺术发展机构。它对于在英国促进对起源于印度、巴基斯坦、孟加拉国和斯里兰卡的各种艺术形式的欣赏和实践起到了显著的作用。 伯明翰最具创新精神的马戏剧团RoguePlay结合了口述语言、无法超越的形体剧场和令人惊叹的空中马戏团。



访问网站

视觉艺术

作为欧洲领先的当代美术馆之一,Ikon美术馆是时尚的、进步的、个性鲜明的。Ikon美术馆通过一系列不断更换的展览和活动展示国际和英国艺术。免费入场。

伯明翰独特的珠宝区是欧洲最大的珠宝学校的所在地。这里有多间画廊展出作品,其中包括英国第二古老的独立画廊:艺术家伯明翰皇家学会。圣保罗画廊是世界著名的签名唱片封面零售商,也是一个不能错过的画廊。

巴伯艺术学院拥有古典大师和现代经典艺术的杰出收藏。你会看到鲁本斯、庚斯博罗、罗塞蒂、莫奈、德加和马格利特的作品。

位于Digbeth的Eastside项目是一个新型的画廊,空间和展览在这里相互交织。除了实验性的当代艺术实践和展览,画廊还有来自国际知名艺术家的长期或永久作品。



访问网站

电影

好莱坞或宝莱坞?艺术电影还是主流大片?伯明翰电影院在最好的场所为您提供各式电影,从宽敞温馨的影城到英国最古老的电影院应有尽有。如果计划在电影院度过一晚时光,伯明翰及周边地区有很多值得一去的电影院供您选择。

在城市中心有1家Cineworld和2家Odeon电影院,还有一座位于The Mailbox的Everyman Cinema。在Star City,您可以找到1家Vue。这是世界上最大的影城之一,有30种不同屏幕。

在伯明翰市中心神奇的Electric Cinema是英国历史最悠久的电影院。这座电影院于1909年开业,经过翻新的Electric Cinema拥有像在家中一般舒适的豪华沙发座、侍者服务和酒吧。



访问网站

音乐

由于拥有多种音乐场馆、来自本地的优秀人才及热情的观众,伯明翰及周边地区提供了各种不拘一格的音乐演出。无论是一个大型体育馆巡演还是小型的较为私密的演唱会,你都可以在伯明翰找到它。

交响乐大厅被广泛认为是欧洲最好的音乐厅,附近的市政厅则提供了一个绝佳的位置。在距市中心仅十分钟路程的Barclaycard国家室内体育馆和姐妹场馆Genting体育场,每晚上演的世界著名摇滚和流行音乐演出永不停歇。

Bramall音乐大厦是伯明翰大学校园内特别修建的音乐场馆,而在伯明翰Hippodrome的威尔士国家歌剧院,无数的伦敦西区音乐剧和世界著名的伯明翰皇家芭蕾舞团则提供更多选择。包括O2 Academy和Jam House等在内的小型场所则上演各种类型的音乐会和演唱会。所有的音乐类型都可以在伯明翰找到归处。



访问网站


内容/图片来源: Visit Birmingham

访问伯明翰